In Oregon the phrase DUI refers to Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants and is commonly known as "Drunk Driving". In Oregon, a person commits the offense of Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants if the person drives a vehicle while the person has a 0.08 percent or more by weight of alcohol in their blood stream, or is under the influence of an intoxicating liquor, a controlled substance or an inhalant, or is under the influence of any combination of intoxicating liquor, an inhalant and a controlled substance. If you are arrested for Drunk Driving or Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants, you should contact an attorney as soon as possible. In Oregon, the penalties for Drunk Driving or Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants can be severe.
Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants can be charged as a Class A Misdemeanor or a Felony depending upon the circumstances of your case and your past criminal history. There are certain deadlines that may apply to the defense of your drivers privileges too, and that require you to take affirmative action within 10-days of an arrest.
Tim Elliott is an experienced DUI/DUII defense attorney who tried and won his first DUI case 21 years ago.